wiikkis ⎮ Riikka Wallin

Cultural management and concepts

Work-a-holic?

Leave a comment

Some of my friends claim that I’m a workaholic and I guess I can understand where they come from, but at the same time I don’t think they really understand what it’s like when you work on the independent cultural field.

And yes, days like today, when I work over 11 hours, do feel a little extreme, but then again, there are those days that I only work for 4 hours and those in Berlin, which gives me the opportunity to for example spend the rest of the day shopping (one of my very few bad habits :P)

There is just a very big difference in lifestyle when you work the way I do (where colleagues are friends and where no one is checking when you do your work and how you do it, as long as it gets done) compared to a regular 9 to 5 (or in Finland 8 to 4) job. And I guess it’s about finding what suits you, how you want to work and finding a balance between work and spare time.

P.S. Today I happened to bump into an old study mate of mine from a few years back and she works in an office from 8 to 4 and seemed to be intrigued and excited by the freedom and variety in my way of working.

Leave a Reply

