wiikkis ⎮ Riikka Wallin

Cultural management and concepts

How effective can you be?

Leave a comment

I’m reading this book called The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen R. Covey and I really like it!

So far I’ve read about the first habit: Be Proactive!

It describes how you can be active and responsible for what you do. I like how the word responsible is used. You are able to give a response in different situations. It doesn’t mean that you take on a shitload of work (if you relate this to work :P), it’s about how you respond to the amount of work. Do you see it as a burden from outside? Is someone else shoveling all that work onto your table? Or do you go to yourself and find a solution within and work from there? Covey talks about Have’s and Be’s. “If only I had this…” or “I’ll be happy when I have that…” versus “I can be more creative, resourceful, etc”

So now I’m trying to observe myself in work but also outside. Am I proactive? Where could I develop when it comes to being proactive? What should I do? In a later blog post I might discuss some results on that :)

Leave a Reply

